Katrina: Latvia, Life in the UK and more!

I’ve realised recently that in working for a international company I actually work closely with so many interesting people and yet I never really ask them much about their lives and where they are from or what brought them to the UK to work. So today I wanted to talk with a colleague and good friend of mine, Katrina as I feel they have a lot of interesting experiences that they can share with us, she also pushed me to start interviewing again when I told her about this site!

Could you briefly introduce yourself ?

I’m Katrina, 35 Years old and have lived in England for the past 13 years. Originally, I’m form Latvia, I have a young son and a partner. I would consider myself outdoorsy, I am outdoors a lot!

So you’re from Latvia, but where about in Latvia are you from and what was it like growing up there?

It was very different to the life that’s here, I am from the Capital of Latvia which is called Riga and I would say Latvia is quite a conservative country whereas I feel my mindset is the opposite way. I’d consider myself open minded and I felt that I could not perhaps always be myself.

Why do you feel Latvia was quite conservative?

It’s the mindset from being in the Soviet Union, my parents grew up with the mindset of the Man should be working and the Woman should be at home cooking, very often that mindset can carry on through different generations and I didn’t agree with the general mindset.

An example would be I grew up as a Vegetarian and would constantly get people disagreeing with that and saying I would die because I wasn’t getting the right nutrients.

So did you find growing up there not so easy?

It was fun because that’s where I got my outdoorsieness from, I was always outside in the countryside playing with my friends, leaving in the morning and coming back late at night. I guess its similar to compare Latvia in the 90s to England in the 70s and 80s where kids would be outside more rather than inside.

So what could you do in Riga and the surrounding areas as a child, I always here Latvia is Riga and forest, is that correct? (Laughs)

Actually, it’s quite true, but for example we’d play football outside a lot, swim in lakes or go on bike rides. We could always find something to do! I grew up on the outskirts of the capital so I was exposed to a lot natural beauty.

So how did you find the education system was for you in Latvia?

I think it was a strong education to be honest, I went to a boarding school from the age of 11 to 16 and it was quite strict, actually that’s where I learnt English! I was quite fortunate to have a good education maybe I just happened to be lucky.

Was English a part of the curriculum then? Like in England we would learn French or German when I was in school.

Yes, it was. I would have to learn English, Latvian and then I could pick Russian or German. I chose Russian which I still speak today!

That’s interesting, I find that countries like Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia for example there are still some remnants of the Soviet Union like learning Russian which I’m sure is still the same now.

It is yes, it’s great that we can communicate in all these languages and not even think about it, I have a lot of Russian friends who live in Latvia so it’s nice I can use their language with them.

So let’s move on to your work life, what did you want to do for work when you were younger and what did you end up doing?

I dreamt of becoming a Lawyer or and actress! I did study law at university but realised it was not really for me. I actually ended up joining the military instead as my family has a military background so I did that until I came to the UK.

What was your position in the military

I joined the academy to become a lieutenant but I dropped out eventually as I realised it was not for me. I’m still glad I tried different things though! Then I went to serve in the Army and study at university during the weekends. My first year was in Infantry, it was quite fun as our platoon was two girls and 60 men. They treated us really well and we were able to keep up with them.

In my second year at the age of 22 I joined the Logistics division and then I came England for a holiday!

So initially you came to the UK while you were still serving in the Military and then you decided to leave after?

Yes I came here, fell in love with the country and decided I wanted to remain here in some way so I returned to Latvia, handed in my notice, completed it and then came to England.

Before we go on to your life away from Latvia I wanted to ask you some further questions, do you still feel connected to Latvia in some way as you’ve been in England for 13 years now.

Yes because my family are still there so I feel connected because my roots are there, I’m happy when I can talk to or see my family. So part of me still feels Latvian but I’m also growing more in the UK.

Do you miss Latvia?

Sometimes yes, I miss my family and friends there and I miss my happy places, Like if I went to a place I used to hang out etc it’s nostalgic.

What is something you love about Latvia?

I love the nature there and I like that in Latvia we have a particular day where schools, companies and citizens all go to natural areas and pick up the rubbish or clean up. I think we are all proud of our natural landscapes and try to take care of them

I also love Mushroom picking but It’s not a thing in England.

Well, it is but it’s becoming a lost art here however we do have people who forage But I wish I could learn about that so perhaps you could.

Yes, people should do it more!

If I were to visit Latvia or Riga is there somewhere or something you would Recommend I should do

Definitely go to lunch at a Lido, which is the best place to experience Latvian cuisine. I’d also recommend boat rides if you’re in the capital and near the main river. Lastly, I’d recommend ‘Old Riga’, it’s all the old architecture, cobblestone roads and has a great nightlife scene. It’s really friendly and beautiful there so I’d highly advise going there.

What is something you dislike about Latvia and why?

I wish they were more open minded, I feel the nation is still stuck a little bit in the past I feel they are a few decades behind overall, it’s quite a bit more conservative compared to other countries.

Do you feel that’s due to the previous ties to Russia?

Yes, I’d say that’s true, in Riga it’s quite cool and less conservative but if you went outside of Riga it’s harder to find different viewpoints or places that are moving with the times, it feels the progress is stunted.

Is there a particular meal that reminds you of home?

Not so much a meal but certain tastes, Latvians are resourceful, we have crisps with mushroom tastes, Dill flavours and we make use of local produce that we have. I miss Dill as a flavour a lot as it’s not really used much in England.

So we’ll move on to talking about the UK, you mentioned coming here around 13 years ago for a holiday and then you came back to stay. What was the purpose of the holiday initially?

I came to visit my brother who already was here, I would say at the age of 22 I had a job with a lot of responsibilities but when I came here, I realised how free or easier life could be. I’d see my older brother happy here and thought I should be able to have the same. I loved how open people were here and the culture in general.

Where was it that made you decide to take the plunge and move?

Chelmsford actually, because of the party life and Essex!

So when you moved to the UK did you have a job lined up?

Well, I didn’t need to worry about a Visa back then and I was still studying in University, so I continued studying while living in the UK and then would look for work when I arrived.

So, when you did get a job what did you do?

The usual things a university student would do like Bar work and things, I didn’t want much stress I wanted the freedom I’d missed out or skipped in Latvia.

So, you could work and have a good social life at the same time.

Yes exactly, I had such a serious position in the Army so I wanted to be more relaxed.

So, after these kind of jobs what sort of jobs did you do?

Well, I worked as a Kitchen manager in a company but I became pregnant so I took time away and was out of work for around 2 years. Then I came to find a job at LEGO which is where I am now as a Team Leader.

Now that you’ve been in the UK for 13 years do you find you speak Latvian as much as you’d like or that you have a community of Latvian people you can interact with?

I have my brother here in the same town and I speak to him in Latvian but other than him I don’t really speak to anyone else. My son also does not speak Latvian. With my Brother I only see him every few weeks so It’s not often I’ll speak Latvian, even at work if I need to translate something I might have to ask for help to change it to or from Latvian

So, in a sense are you losing your grip on the language perhaps it’s not as comfortable to go back to it as it once was?

Yes, at work recently I had to spend a day with a Latvian speaker and explain things to them I found myself struggling to start sentences in Latvian, I was speaking more in English as it was easier to string sentences together regarding the topic we were working on.

Does that make you sad in a way or bother you?

It doesn’t bother me too much, I’ve chosen my life here and I know I’ll be here for the rest of my life, I’m happy to have my language and my accent because it makes me who I am.

It seems like you’ve integrated more into the British way of life then?

Yes exactly.

You mentioned having a child and that they were born in the UK, do you know if its easier or harder to have a child in the UK compared to Latvia?

In the UK it’s harder but there are benefits like the NHS, to be honest if it wasn’t for them I’d have died during childbirth, they were incredible but outside of giving birth I’d say the childcare situation in England is so difficult and expensive whereas in Latvia it is all free.

Now that my son is older I love having him in England because he get’s more opportunities and exposure to things, the populations bigger here and much more multicultural so I think growing up for him he will have some fantastic experiences and opportunities.

Going back to what you mentioned, what did you mean regarding the NHS saving you?

Childbirth with my son was quite difficult it lasted for three days and when he did come out he was totally blue, surrounded by lots of staff and I got some sort of infection which meant I had to stay in the hospital, long story short it was a long process and harder to deal with at the time.

So, if that happened in Latvia would you have to pay for it all?

Healthcare is free but only to a certain point, but for example if I wanted an epidural in Latvia, It would cost more like it was an added extra. I know people who needed them in Latvia but couldn’t afford it and may have suffered due to it.

What is your one of your favourite things about the UK

I love the British sense of humour, the dry wit and sarcasm. I do also love the culture here and how multicultural it is here, like where we both work, we have people from all around the world in our teams. I pretty much just love everything about England and the UK

As a British person I’m happy to hear it, so would you say there is anything you perhaps don’t dislike but wish could improve in the UK?

Yes of course, I feel Nurses, Teachers, firefighters etc would not have to strike often like they are now. I wish healthy food choices were more normalised because England loves quite hearty meals with lots of carbs for example. These are not major things that effect my day to day too much though however I’d like things to improve especially in terms of the pay for the careers I mentioned already.

You mentioned food choices and you would class yourself as Vegan if I am correct, do you think it’s easy to live this way in the UK or that there are enough options for people of certain diets?

I think it depends where you are, for example if you were in London it’s likely quite easy but if you are in the countryside for example it’s sometimes trickier, for example if I went to a café in Cornwall where I frequent I’d ask if they have different kinds of milk like soy but they usually don’t.

What would be some of your favourite destinations in the UK?

Cornwall by far but I do also love Wales for the mountains and when you drive through the mountains with the lakes beside you there is nothing more beautiful. I love Cornwall due to the coastal walks, hidden beaches, snorkelling opportunities and so much more. I think Cornwall is so  beautiful.

Do you find Cornwall feels quite different to the rest of the UK? I ask because when I went a few years ago some of the beaches looked like I was in Italy due to the good weather and clear ocean.

That’s exactly it, it’s not just the beaches though but some of the little villages have this incredible feel like you’re not in the mainland of England, it’s a little bit stuck in time in a sense but because they retain this feel they keep their uniqueness, it’s truly incredible.

We both live in Maidenhead which is situated not too far from London and Reading in the opposite direction, what do you like about living here?

I love everything that Maidenhead provides, Maidenhead itself has so many parks and is quite a family orientated place, it doesn’t have a big nightlife, has lots of activities for children and is surrounded by beautiful nature. We are also close to places like Windsor, Marlow and Cookham, these places are so beautiful and Windsor specifically has great restaurants and plenty of places to explore.

You mentioned earlier that you do not really speak Latvian to your son but do you feel you wish you did more, or taught him from an early age? How important is his Latvian heritage to you?

I wish I had taught him but not because of his heritage I just wish he was bilingual as he would have some more opportunities in life and would also have a different perspective on things, what I mean by that is that words and phrases can have different meanings depending on the language or one language may not have a certain phrase compared to another. At the moment my son actually studies Mandarin at school so I hope he can gain a different perspective and skills from that.  

I remember being a teenager Eastern European people had a bit of a bad reputation in terms of ‘stealing jobs’ from British people. While this is an ignorant view do you think this attitude still stands today and did you experience any negativity regarding that

I was aware of the reputation but I recall a comedian saying ‘if you come to this country and you don’t know anyone or speak the language and you can “steal” someone’s job then perhaps they were not good at their job in the first place’. However, I just tend to get on with my life and not care about what people think so I guess I never thought much about it.

Well, that’s a good mindset to have right? It shouldn’t matter what people think.

I used to try to get rid of my accent but these days I’m happy to have it because it’s a part of me.

Exactly it’s a part of what makes you who you are, you don’t need to emulate a British accent your accent makes you stand out in a positive way.

Why do you think a number of eastern European people moved or still move to countries like the UK?

Low skilled jobs here pay a lot more than back in our home countries but not only that for example if a Dr from Latvia who spoke English came here to work they can have a really great life perhaps that they couldn’t have back home. People are money driven and there is nothing wrong with that if you have an opportunity, you should take it.

I always thought the same if I had an opportunity somewhere else and moved my family etc in order to gain a better life, why wouldn’t I do that as long as I pay my way with Taxes and things.

I believe you would class yourself as part of the LGBTQIA+ community, how do you find this community is portrayed, do you find there are challenges being in this community or that it’s perhaps easier to be a part of this community today?

I think it is certainly more understood generally and it is perhaps easier for some than it was 20+ years ago, again I don’t really care what people say or think about me and if somebody has a problem with me or anyone being in this community perhaps, they have problems with themselves.

Do you think it’s better that the community is more discussed today?

Yes, I think so because it helps people understand, if I was growing up with the mindset and awareness, we have now I think I’d be so much happier in my 20’s than I was. I think that social awareness will make life easier for young people.

Your experience is perhaps not so unique these days in joining a same sex relationship later in your life but did you feel that was a challenge at first navigating that world while being a single parent?

To be totally honest that’s all I wanted all my life, when you hit 30 Years old you’re no longer thinking about others you’re living for yourself and I felt great so for me there was nothing difficult to navigate.

So perhaps your life was easier than it once was?

Absolutely.

Would you have advice for people perhaps in the position you were in?

Live for yourself, do what makes you happy, surround yourself with people that support and love you and remove those that don’t.

Could I ask how you and your partner met?

Tinder actually and it was my first date with a Women!

I think that’s quite common these days isn’t it, it’s a good way to meet people you may otherwise never meet, my wife and I met the same way actually!

Exactly it can help meet people who perhaps live a bit further away than you’d naturally meet but we got on well and now we live together. Going back to your other question though it wasn’t easy to balance being a single parent at the same time because of the logistics of it all but eventually we all moved in together and it’s great

From the outside I’ve seen your family a few times and it is full of happy people, no different than you’d expect from the “Traditional” family so it angers me when ignorant people cannot accept these kinds of families.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years, would you like to remain in the Berkshire, would you go back to Latvia at all?

I’d love to live in the Cornwall area eventually but sooner than that perhaps the South Coast as we both work from home we could navigate it easier than if we were always office based. I just want to wake up on weekends and be surrounded by the natural beauty I love like the beaches and more.

I think it sounds beautiful thanks so much for your time today!

You’re welcome!

I wanted to thank Katrina for taking the time to share a bit about herself and her experiences, it’s been an eye-opening conversation and I’ve learnt a lot so I hope you all do too! This conversation reignited my passion for interviewing so I do hope to have some more lined up in the future!


Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started