Aya Yamamoto Jane: Giving birth prematurely in Japan, One year of Motherhood and looking towards the future.

It’s been quite a while since I last interviewed my Wife Aya. We’ve been through quite a lot of changes in recent years and we both wanted to have a bit of a cathartic experience in discussing the birth of our Son, Joji. Much like previous Interviews Aya has been kind enough to translate it all into Japanese beneath each piece of text, we hope you enjoy reading it!

Since we last sat down for an interview so much has happened, we’ve moved house, our job situations have changed and we’ve had a child, how would you describe the last year or so in one sentence and why?

前回のインタビューから、引っ越しもして、仕事の状況も変わって、子供も生まれたね。去年を一文でまとめるとどんな感じ?また、それはどうして?

A different stage of my life because I became a mother and my priorities changed as did my situation, I quit my job and my life has changed

母になって、自分にとっての優先順位も変わったから、人生の違うステージにいる感じがする。仕事も退職したから、私の生活も変わったしね。

I will never forget you telling me you’re pregnant. We were planning to see my parents and I was asking what wine you wanted so you had to let me know you wouldn’t be having any alcohol. But how did you feel when you found out?

忘れもしないよ!あのとき僕の両親に会う約束があって、どんなワインが飲みたいか?って、質問した時に、ワイン飲めないから妊娠していることを僕に伝えざるを得なくなったんだよね。妊娠を知った時、正直どんな気持ちだった?

To be honest I didn’t expect we would be having a child so quickly as some people can try for so long to be a parent and find it difficult but for us it was quite soon so I felt shocked and apprehensive about the long term. I was so happy to know I was having a child but our life in the town we moved to had not really begun yet, we didn’t know the area well and didn’t know anyone so I thought I’d know these things more before having a child.

正直言って、こんなに早く赤ちゃんを授かれるとは思っていなくて。というのも、知り合いには親になるまでに苦労して、時間が掛かった人もいたから、こんなに早く授かって驚いたし長い目で見て不安もあったかな。もちろん子供を授かったことはとても嬉しかったんだけど、引っ越して新しい街での生活が始まったばかりで、土地勘もないし、知り合いもいなかったから、子供が生まれてくる前に、もっと準備しておくべきだと思ったんだよね。

Our son was due in August 2022 and you wanted to see your family before his birth so we decided to visit in early June, it was cleared by the Dr but knowing that your family was on the other side of the world. How did it feel to see them again?

僕たちの息子の予定日は2022年の8月だったから、彼が生まれる前に日本の家族に会いたいということで、6月上旬に日本の家族を訪問するとこにしたんだよね。お医者さんには許可をもらってのことだったけど、家族が地球の裏側にいるって分かっていながら会いに行くと決めたときはどんな気持ちだった?

So many things happened during Covid time, my Grandmother passed away and I couldn’t go to Japan, my Dad had a stroke and I couldn’t be there for my family again. I realised I live very far from my family and didn’t think much about that before these events happened and I also had a sense of guilt. I thought it may be hard to see my family after he is born so I felt relieved that we could meet again.

コロナの時期には色々なことがあって、祖母が亡くなったときも日本に行けなかったし、父が脳梗塞で倒れたときも家族のために側に居れなかった。そのときまではあまり考えていなかったんだけど、こういうことが起こって自分が本当に家族と離れて暮らしているんだってことに気付いて、罪悪感も覚えたんだ。息子が生まれてから会いに行くのは難しいと思ったから、再会できてホッとしたね。

What was it like to see your family again and could you break down what happened regarding our trip to Japan and the pregnancy?

家族と再会したときはどんな感じだった?妊婦の状態での日本への旅で何が起こったのか説明してくれる?

We had a great flight, I wasn’t tired or anything despite there being added time due to the Ukraine conflict (15hr flight). People I knew were telling me it would be hard to fly to Japan but I never had morning sickness or any issues during the pregnancy. I felt so happy to see my parents again, I remember seeing my dad in person and I thought he looked old, it made me think about how many years it had been since I saw him. I was just relieved to be back in Japan. That evening we had a big Sushi dinner and I felt like I was home again

ウクライナ情勢の影響で長時間のフライト(15時間)だったにも関わらず、疲れもなく快適なフライトだったんだよね。知り合いは日本へのフライトが大変だったとも言っていたけど、私は妊娠中つわりも全くなくって問題なかったの。両親と再会できたのは本当に嬉しかった。迎えに来てくれた父を見たときに何だか年を取って見えて、一体何年もの間会えてなかったのかなって思ってしまった。日本に帰ってきて、ただただホッとしたんだ。その夜は寿司をたらふく食べて、あー日本に帰ってきたーって感じた。

The next morning our first full day in Japan you began to complain of bad stomach pains?

日本到着後の翌朝にお腹が痛いって訴え始めたんだよね?

Yes we both thought I ate too much or had bad fish, It’s recommended you don’t eat raw fish but in Japan we still do a bit if pregnant. I wondered if I was also just tired but something was wrong, I contacted a friend who is a midwife who suggested that due to the intense pain I should go to the local Hospital. As I was waiting to be seen the pain got worse, we were in a small town so I needed to go to the next city by Ambulance as they had the best equipment to help me.

そう、初めは私達食べすぎか、寿司であたったのかなと思ったんだけど。妊婦は生魚を食べない方がいいって言われているけど、日本では妊娠していても少しは食べるしね。疲れが出たのかなとも思ったんだけど、何かおかしいなと思って、助産師の知り合いに相談したら、痛みがあるなら病院に行くように勧められて近くの病院へ行ったんだよね。診察を待っている間に痛みはひどくなってくるし、小さな町にいたから隣町にある設備の整った病院へ救急車で搬送されることになって。

So you and I went to Odawara Hospital which is about a 30 minute drive, I remember thinking I was in a dream because it felt so unreal that it was happening. When we got to the hospital they wheeled you away, what happened next?

僕たちは30分ほど離れた小田原市立病院へ行ったんだよね。起こっていることがあまりにも非現実的すぎて、夢の中にいるんじゃないかって思っていたのを覚えているよ。病院に到着して担架で運ばれて、そのあとはどうなったんだっけ?

Yes they told you to wait in the waiting area, they took me away and a Dr checked me over, eventually they said I have to stay at the hospital until the baby is born which could be until the due date in August, we were on a two week holiday and the Dr told me I will not be leaving the country or anything until the baby is born, worst of all due to covid restrictions I can’t see you or my family until I am discharged. I didn’t know what to do.

そう、病院の人はあなたは待合室で待っているようにと言ってね、私はお医者さまに診てもらうために連れていかれて。そこで彼らに赤ちゃんが生まれるまでは病院から出られませんと告げられたの。つまり、私達は2週間の休暇のつもりで来たけど、予定日である8月まで病院にいるという可能性もあった。赤ちゃんが生まれるまでは、日本から出ることもできないし、最悪だったのはコロナの規制によって、赤ちゃんが生まれて退院するまでは家族と一切面会ができないって言われたことだった。本当にどうしていいか分からなかった。

I remember being in the waiting room for ages, your mum was on her way still but stuck in traffic, the Dr told me the situation as best they could but infirmed me that the baby was in the breach position and there was a risk if you gave birth elsewhere but also that there is currently a risk to you and the baby which could mean death. I felt so powerless because I had to leave without saying anything to you. I had all your things so there was no way to communicate with you, what was going through your mind at this time?

待合室でずっと待っていたの覚えているよ、お義母さんが向かっていたけど渋滞に巻き込まれていてね。お医者さんができる限り状況を説明してくれて、赤ちゃんが逆子だから早く生まれてしまうことでリスクがあるということ、つまり現時点で赤ちゃんにも彩にも死のリスクがあるってことを伝えてきたんだ。あの時、僕は無力感に苛まれて。何も言えないまま、ただ彩の荷物を持って帰るしかなくて、コミュニケーションの手段もなかったからね。あの時、どんなことが頭によぎった?

To be honest I was worried about you, how would you communicate with my parents and what would you do and how was your mental state. I felt guilty, why did I come back to Japan, I made the wrong decision for sure and put the baby at risk. I cannot forgive myself for this. 

正直言って、ルイスのことが心配だった。私の両親とどうやって意思疎通するんだろうって、あなたは何して過ごして、精神状態はどうなっちゃうのかって。私は何故日本に帰ることを決めて、赤ちゃんを危険にさらしてしまったんだろうって、罪の意識を感じて。自分を許せなくなった。

It took only a few days for our son to be born, you called me and told me he was coming but the connection dropped, then your Mum was called to attend as they needed family there. We still couldn’t see each other for a week after that but how was this experience for you? 

僕たちの息子が生まれるまでには(結果的には)数日しか掛からなかったんだよね、彩が赤ちゃんが生まれるって電話してきたときのこと覚えてるよ!でも、電話が切れちゃってね。それでお義母さんが病院に呼ばれて、そのまま向かって。僕たちは赤ちゃんが生まれてから1週間くらい会えなかったわけだけど、この経験についてはどう感じた?

Before he was born, I was there for 4 days but it felt like forever, I didn’t know what to do, I was mentally exhausted and crying all the time due to my guilt. I didn’t know how long I would be there, potentially two months until the due date. One day the Nurse came up to me as I complained of stomach pain again the previous day, they told me he was coming and they would get ready to do a caesarean section in the next 10 minutes

息子が生まれるまで4日間病院にいただけなのに、永遠に続くように感じたね。どうすればいいかわからなくて。精神的に参っていて、罪の意識から常に泣きじゃくってた。(赤ちゃんが生まれるまで)どれだけ長くここにいるのかもわからなかったし、予定日までは2ヶ月あったからそこまで続く可能性もあったから。生まれる前日にお腹が痛くって、看護婦さんを呼んで、翌朝に赤ちゃん生まれるからあと10分で帝王切開の緊急手術しますって言われて。

I couldn’t believe it, I had to process the information and try to call you, I didn’t feel prepared. They were asking me to sign so many documents should something bad happen to me and I couldn’t possibly read them properly due to the rush. They gave me an anesthetic, cut my stomach and then he was here super quickly. I vaguely remember him crying in a really high tone voice, I was relieved he seemed to be ok, the Nurse brought him to my side so I could see him and then took him away in an incubator. Despite the trauma of the situation, I remember how beautiful he was.

本当に信じられなくて、頭の中で情報を整理して電話しようとしたんだけど、準備ができている状態じゃなかった。万が一何かあった時のためにと、たくさんの書類にサインさせられたんだけど、急ぎながらだったから読めてもいなかった。(半身)麻酔をかけられて、お腹を切られてすぐに丈慈が生まれたんだ。かすかに彼が甲高い声で泣いたのが聞こえたのを覚えてる、彼が大丈夫そうでとりあえず安心した。看護婦さんが近くに連れてきてくれて、一目だけ顔を見れたんだよね、そしてすぐに保育器に入れるために運ばれて行った。トラウマ的な状況ではあったけれど、本当に可愛らしい赤ちゃんだったの覚えているよ。

As they took him away your Mum arrived at the Hospital and crossed paths with him in the hallway, she immediately knew that was her Grandson and asked if she could take a picture for the rest of us to see, the staff allowed it and took him away but I was so happy she could share that picture with me.

看護婦さんたちが丈慈を運んでいるときに、ちょうどお義母さんが病院に着いて、廊下ですれ違ったんだよね。お義母さんは即座に自分の孫だって分かって、僕たちに見せるために写真を撮っていいかお願いしたんだ。スタッフは写真を撮らせてくれて、丈慈は運ばれていっちゃったけど。お義母さんが写真を見せてくれてとっても嬉しかったよ。

That picture was better than my image of him at the time!

あの写真は私があの時持っていた印象より良い感じだった!

I imagine you’d describe this time as one of the hardest times of your life but despite that did you feel our son and you were in a safe environment?

これは人生で最も大変な時だったと思うんだけど、それでも、この時に息子と自分は安全な環境にいたと感じたかな?

I couldn’t think about it much as I kept blaming myself for the situation. I felt so guilty and it stunted my happiness a bit, I couldn’t hold him for a long time after he was born I could only visit him and watch him in the incubator, he has so many tubes and wires on him but I couldn’t comfort him. I stayed with him as much as possible but there was little I could do for him.

私は本当に自分を責めてばっかりいたから、なんとも言えないけど。罪悪感ばかりで、幸せを感じることすら忘れてしまっていたの。保育器の中の丈慈を見て、触るとこはできてもしばらく抱くことができなくてね。チューブとかワイヤーに繋がれた彼にできることはなくて。なるべく一緒にいるようにしたけど、何もしてあげられなかった。

The other parents in the room with me could hold their baby, cuddle them and everything but for me I felt punished as I couldn’t hold him. 

同室のお母さんたちは生まれた赤ちゃんを抱っこしてギューッとして一緒に過ごしているのに私はできないって、何か罰を受けているような感じだった。

During this time I felt similar, I couldn’t see him or you and I was happy everyone was ok but it was tough. I remember just going for very long walks around the town and mountains to take my mind off of things but overall, I wanted to be strong for the family. One day your Mum told me we would drop some clothes off for you and we were going to sneak you out of the Hospital to see us in the Car Park which we did. 

この期間、僕も同じこと思っていた。丈慈にも彩にも会えないし。みんなが無事で嬉しかったけど、キツかった。ただ、頭を空っぽにしたくて、町とか山を長い距離散歩したんだけど、家族のために強くならなきゃって思ったよ。ある日、お義母さんが彩の荷物を届けるときにこっそり駐車場で密会したんだよね。

That was a silly but great moment.

あれはふざけてたけど、会えて嬉しかったなぁ。

How long were you and Joji in Hospital for?

丈慈と彩はどれだけ病院にいたんだっけ?

I was allowed to leave after two weeks but Joji had to stay for a month and a half.

私は結局2週間で退院したけど、丈慈は1ヶ月半入院していた。

I was given my Paternity at the time and remained in the country until a week before he could leave as I needed to sort out his passport for the UK etc. We were quite limited in seeing our son while he had to stay in the hospital until he could grow enough and breathe unaided, we were able to visit him each day but could you explain that experience. 

僕はあの時パパ育児休暇をもらって、イギリスに帰るためのパスポートの手配などをする必要があったからずっとは日本にいれなかったけど、彼が退院できる1週間前までは日本に残ったんだよね。丈慈がしっかり成長して、自力で呼吸できるようになるまで入院していた間、僕たちは彼に会うことをかなり制限されていたんだよね。それについて、説明してくれる?

Japan had a strict Covid rule at the time, we could only visit 30 mins a day and only I could see him, then at times they said 1 hour a day with both of us and changed it back again. It was hard to keep up with the rules and initially we drove there together and you would stay in the waiting room. I remember they gave us an exception around 3 and a half weeks after his birth where you could see him with me, it was sad you had to wait so long to see your son.

日本は当時コロナの制限が厳しくかかっていて、私だけが1日30分だけ丈慈に会うことができたんだよね。それから、私達両方とも1日1時間まで会えるようになったんだけど(かなり交渉の末)、結局また元に戻ってしまって。正直ルールに従うのが大変で、初めは2人で病院まで行って、ルイスは待合室で待ってたんだよ。確か、丈慈が生まれて3週間くらい経ってやっと特別措置で二人一緒に会わせてもらえて、あなたが息子に長い間会えなかったのは悲しかったなぁ。

I do want to say it wasn’t the staffs fault they listened to our concerns and helped us a lot, even when eventually I’d drive to the hospital alone and see my son, they really tried to help me even with a language barrier. I’m glad I got to see him without all the tubes and wires and hold him, thinking back to how small he was and how big and strong he is now, what are your thoughts on his progress?

これはスタッフのせいではないってことは声を大にして言いたいな。彼らは僕たちが不安に思っていることなどしっかり聞いてくれたし、たくさん助けてくれた。僕が一人で面会に行った時だって、言葉の壁があったにも関わらず一所懸命に助けてくれた。僕はチューブやワイヤーに繋がれていない状態で丈慈を抱っこすることができてとても嬉しかったよ。振り返ると、彼がどんなに小さかったか!そして今どれだけ大きくなって逞しくなったか。彼の成長についてはどう思う?

When I see him now I think that all our hardship was worth it, he’s so happy and such a character now with no issues at all, he loves eating and playing. Nobody would know he was premature if we didn’t tell them.

今の彼を見ていると、あの時私たちが乗り越えた困難は価値あることだったなと思えるよ。丈慈はとってもハッピーで問題もなく、とっても個性的だしね!もし言わなければ、誰も未熟児だったなんて思わないもん。

As he wasn’t born in the UK I had to either sort out a Visa for him or get his passport sorted, so we decided after a month I should go back to England and arrange these things which could be delayed due to Covid. I was gone for around 4 months and I can only describe the time I had away from you both as isolating and sad, but it ultimately made us stronger, we always seem to have some challenge in our lives but we overcome it together eventually. How did it feel to you when you knew you couldn’t come home with our son and we had to be apart for a while.

丈慈がイギリスで生まれていないこともあって、ビザやパスポートを用意しなきゃいけなかったから、1ヶ月日本にいてその後イングランドに帰ることにしたんだよね。コロナで手続きが遅れていることもあったから。僕は約4ヶ月家に一人で、その期間は孤独で寂しかったとしか言いようがないね。でも、それは同時に僕らを強くしたし、いつも僕らにはチャレンジがあるけど結局乗り越えてきたね。君たちがすぐには帰ってこれないことを知って、しばらく離れ離れになるって分かった時、どう感じた?

I was sad that we couldn’t be a family properly but he was safe, I was safe. My parents said congratulations to me when he came out of hospital and I realised I should be happier. Night time was always the hardest time because I worried he’d have breathing issues again and you couldn’t be here to help me. There was also a big time difference so we could never speak much.

家族が一緒にいれなくて悲しかったけど、丈慈も私も安全だったから。丈慈が退院して家に帰って来た時に両親におめでとうって言われて、私もっと喜んでいいんだってハッとした。夜になると彼の呼吸に問題が起きたらどうしようっていつも恐くって、あなたも側にいなかったから。時差もあって話をするのも難しかったしね。

I think the time we spent in Japan either together or apart was both the worst and best time of my life, I wonder if you felt similar to me? We had to be apart but at the same time your family were so supportive, people could not do enough for us, even local people in the area. Your extended family like your Uncles, Aunts and Cousins provided so many things for us for nothing other than the fact you were family and you needed help. That will always stand out to me and it’s something I’ll feel like I could never fully repay them for.

僕は日本で一緒に過ごした時間も、離れて過ごした時間も人生で最悪であり最高の時間でもあった。どうかな、同じように感じる?僕たちは離れていなくてはいけなかったけど、彩の家族はとても協力的で、もしイギリスだったらここまでのサポートは得られなかったと思う。困っていた僕たちに、日本の叔父さん、叔母さん、いとこや親戚の皆が本当にたくさんのものを提供してくれてね。どんなにお礼をしても足りないくらいに助けてもらったなって思っているよ。

I felt the same, I hadn’t lived in Japan for almost 10 years so I couldn’t do anything for my relatives but they helped me so much, I cannot thank them enough.

私もそう思う。10年近く海外に住んでいて、親戚には何もできなかったのに、皆が本当に助けてくれて、感謝しきれない。

As sad as I was that you and our son had to stay around 4 more months in Japan. I was happy your family could spend more time with you both and see their first grandchild, how do you feel about the distance between the countries, how will you ensure our son continues to have links to Japan.

君たちが4ヶ月日本に滞在しなくてはいけなかったことは悲しいんだけど、彩の家族が君たちとたくさん過ごせて、初孫に会えたことは僕もとても嬉しいよ。日本とイギリスの距離をどう思う?丈慈が日本との繋がりを持ち続けるにはどうしたらいいと思う?

He was born there and he is half Japanese so I want him to feel like he belongs both there and in the UK, I want to take him as much as possible which is not easy, even if not if the family could meet somewhere I want him to spend time with them like we did in Malaysia.

彼は日本で生まれたし、日本とイギリスのハーフだからどちらの国も故郷だと感じてほしいな。簡単ではないけれど、日本にたくさん連れていきたいし、日本ではなくてもマレーシアで過ごしたように日本の家族ともたくさん時間を過ごしてほしいなぁ。

I could return to Japan finally after 4 months, it felt odd that I’d skipped months of his life but we were finally able to do things as a family. I was back in Japan for almost 2 weeks and then we’d get him to the UK to adjust before I went back to work again. I think the time we spent in Japan as a family are some of my favourite moments, road trips, seeing Mount Fuji with you both, Going to Hokkaido and meeting more of your family. How did you feel once we were all back together?

4ヶ月後にようやく日本に迎えに行けることになって、丈慈の成長を数ヶ月見逃してしまったから変な感じがしたけど、ようやく家族らしいことができたね。僕は日本に2週間ほど行って、僕が仕事に戻る前に彼をイギリスの生活に慣らしたんだよね。僕らが日本で一緒に過ごした時間はとても良い時間だったよ。ドライブに行って、二人と一緒に富士山を見て、北海道に行ってもっとたくさんの家族にも会ったね。僕らがようやく揃って、どんな感じがした?

I felt relieved in a way because I got him to be ok until you saw him again, I protected him alone and looked after him I did it all without your support but now I had you back. I also had an amazing time with you in Japan, it was like we were never apart from each other, finally we could be a family again.

とにかくあなたが日本に戻ってくるまで、丈慈を無事に育てなきゃって必死だったから、とりあえず安心した。あなたの助けなしで、彼を一人で守って、面倒見てきたけど、ようやく帰ってきたからね。私も日本で一緒に過ごせた時間は最高だった。ようやく家族として一緒に居れたわけだけど、今まで離れ離れだったのが嘘だったみたいで。

When you knew you’d be coming back to the UK were you apprehensive and why?

イギリスに帰ってくるとき、不安はあった?あったとすれば、なぜ?

I didn’t feel too bad because he was meant to be born here but I did have the realisation that the support in the UK was less, especially when you went back to work. 

元々イギリスで生まれる予定だったから、そんなに不安はなかったけれど、特にあなたが仕事に戻ったあとはサポートが少なくなるなってことは悟ったよね。

Now that you’ve been a parent for a year, what do you find the most challenging aspect?

今、親になって1年が経ったけれど、一番大変な面はどんなことかな?

I think it’s finding your own way to be a parent, there is no rulebook you just have to adapt.

自分なりに親のなり方を考えなきゃいけないことかな?ルールブックがあるわけじゃないから、自分で適応していかなきゃいけないもんね。

What’s the most rewarding part of being a parent for you?

では、親として最もやりがいを感じることはなんだろう?

Every single day he is different, he has little victories and advances in what he can do. One day he can suddenly crawl, another he can turn the page of a book himself.

毎日変化があって、少しでも今までできなかったことができるようになったり。ある日突然ハイハイし始めたり、またある日は本のページを自分でめくれるようになったり。

I think we both feel we’d like another child despite how tough it can be but I think what holds us back is the financial side and space, would you agree? Do you think the UK has enough support for parents? 

大変ではあるけれど、もう一人子供が欲しいなーというのが僕たち二人の希望だと思うんだ。僕たちを踏みとどまらせる要因は経済的な面と物理的なスペースだと思うんだけれど、そう思う?イギリスは両親へのサポートが十分だと感じるかな?

In the UK these days it seems just not financially a good idea to have even one child sometimes because costs are just rising like crazy, also if you send your child to nursery then one of the parents has lost their salary anyway, I remember colleagues saying when you become a parent all your money is gone. I think the UK is more child friendly than perhaps Japan is though, so many activities for kids, people are really accommodating and helpful if you have a kid.

今日ではイギリスの物価高騰は恐ろしくて、例え一人であっても子供を育てるのは経済的に大変な状況だと思う。もし子供を保育園に預ければ、片親のお給料はそれでなくなってしまうしね。同僚が、子供ができたらお金は全部なくなっちゃうよと言ってたんだよね。それでも私はイギリスは日本に比べると子供に対して寛容だと思うんだ。子供向けのアクティビティーがたくさんあったり、子供連れでいるとみんなとても親切で助けてくれるしね。

Did you find it difficult to make friends in this country as a parent?

この国でママ友を作るのは難しいと思う?

I tried to make friends in the local area through the app Peanut or Japanese friends who were Mothers in local groups but they are more located in London, I think I have a good network of friends now who have children of a similar age. I’m happy I can have him grow up with Japanese friends too hopefully!

私は、ピーナッツっていうアプリを使って地元のママ友を作ったり、ロンドンベースの子が多いけど日本のプレイグループでママ友を作ったり、今では年の近い子を持つママたちと良い繋がりがあると思う。日本人のお友達と一緒に子育てができたら嬉しいなと思う。

I get lots of questions as I am sure you do about how we mix our cultures together when raising our child, are you conscious about imparting some of your culture onto our son and how do you do that? 

どうやって日本の文化を混ぜて子育てをしているのかってよく質問をされるんだけど。息子には日本の文化を伝えることを意識している?そうであれば、どのように?

When we joined a parenting class before he was born we were advised that if we speak different languages you should speak your main language to the child in order for them to learn. So I only speak Japanese to him, I read Japanese kids books to him and play him Japanese nursery rhymes for him too. I also try to cook him Japanese food as much as I can, he loves Onigiri for example. 

彼が生まれる前に参加した両親学級でアドバイスされたのは、もし夫婦が違う言語を話すならそれぞれの母国語を話すことが子供にとっていいと聞いたんだ。だから私は彼に日本語で話しているし、日本語の本を読んだり、日本語の歌で手遊びをしたりしている。あとは可能な範囲で日本食を食べさせるようにもしているかな。彼は、おにぎりが好きだしね。

Do you feel it’s easy to find activities and kids groups in the UK?

イギリスでは、子供向けのアクティビティーやキッズグループを見つけるのが楽だと思う?

Yeah I think it’s quite easy, our son is in a Sensory class and also Swimming lessons already which he enjoys, I don’t believe it’s this is in Japan and I really like this aspect of the UK.

そうね、楽だと思う。彼は既に幼児教室や水泳教室に行っていて、とても楽しんでいるしね。日本だとなかなかないし、イギリスのこういうところは好きだな!

You had to make a difficult decision not to return to work, what was that like having to make that choice, was there a particular factor?

彩は仕事に復帰しないという難しい決断をしたね、この決定に至ったのは?何か特定の要因があったのかな?

After Brexit I feel industries struggled to get workers and staff so a lot of companies are trying to focus on full time staff, as I wanted to be part time or more limited in my time I think it was hard for them to have me continue working for them which was a shame. Also the job required shift work and I think my relationship with my child may suffer if I’m working super early or super late all the time. Lastly I think if I’m not around his Japanese language abilities will lessen.

ブレグジットの後、あらゆる産業で人手不足の状態になっていて、会社はフルタイムの正社員を欲しがるところが多い。私は時短、またはパートタイムで仕事を続けたいと思っていたんだけど、残念ながら会社側にとっての望みではなかったんだよね。会社はシフト制で働き続けてほしいと言っていたんだけど、もし私が早朝や遅い時間に仕事をしていたら子供との関係性にも影響しかねないと思った。あとは小さいうちから私が近くにいないことで、日本語力を保つのは難しいだろうと思ったんだ。

By the time this comes out he’ll be a year old, for me It has gone so quick but it’s great to see this tiny guy morph into this little person with so much character and joy in him. How do you feel knowing he’s reached a year already? 

僕にとってはあっという間だったけれど、このおチビさんが、個性的でいつも幸せな”小さな人間”に変身していくのを見るのは素晴らしいことだね。彼がもう1歳になったことをどう思うかな?

Now that I’ve done this interview, I reflected on the difficulties we had but I’ve just blinked and my son is already one year old, he is such a funny little person and advancing all the time, becoming so independent so I don’t feel any negativity I’m just so happy with how far he has come.

今こうやってインタビューをされて、私達が経験してきた困難を振り返ってきたけど、瞬きしたら彼は1歳になってしまった感じがする。彼は愉快なおチビさんで、いつも少しずつ成長していくし、自立していくから、私は悲観的には思わないし、ここまで成長してくれたことを本当に嬉しく思うよ。

In the Year he’s been with us he’s been to 4 different countries and on countless flights, I always thought our travel bug would suffer slightly with a child but it seems it’s not that difficult to travel with him, he’s quite international so what are your thoughts and do you have any tips traveling with a child?

この一年で、彼はたくさんのフライトで4ヶ国もの国を訪れたね。僕は子供と旅をするときに荷物がどれだけ多くなってしまうのかと不安だったけど、彼はかなり国際的なので、そこまで大変ではなかったね。子供と旅をする際の何かアドバイスはあるかな?

Don’t be so nervous like you were with him, don’t give up on your joy of travel just adapt. So many people were helpful on our flights from the staff to the other passengers. Nobody ever seemed bothered by him! 

あなたのように、そこまで神経質にならないで!ということかな。順応して、旅をする喜びを諦めないでほしい。スタッフだけでなく乗客の人も含め、たくさんの人がフライトでとても協力的だった。誰も彼に邪魔されているように感じている様子はなかったから!

Do you have any particular stand out moments with our son in the last year, I’m sure there are many but could you pick one for a particular reason?

昨年で特に極めて印象的だった瞬間はあるかな?もちろんたくさんあるとは思うんだけど、何か特別な理由があれば一つ挙げてみて?

When we were reunited as a family when you came back to Japan.

やっぱり空港で家族として再会したときかな。

Do you have any hopes for your Son’s future?

息子の未来に望むことはありますか?

Compared to us he may feel the world is not so big because he’s been to 4 different countries already, he has a lot of potential and opportunities to experience so many things. I want him to challenge himself and enjoy his life as much as possible, I don’t want him to give up or limit himself.

彼は既に4ヶ国を訪問しているし、私達と比べて、世界がそんなに大きいとは感じないと思う。彼にはたくさんの可能性があって、たくさんのことを経験するチャンスがある。だから諦めたり、自分の可能性に制限を掛けるのではなく、挑戦してほしいし、人生をできる限り楽しんでほしい!

What’s your message to him if he were reading this in the future?

このメッセージを将来読む丈慈に何かメッセージは?

Enjoy your life, life is beautiful and short so don’t waste a moment. Remember you are loved by so many people and whatever your dream is never stop trying to achieve it.

人生を楽しんで!人生は美しいし、短くもある。だから時間を無駄にしないでほしい。あなたはたくさんの人に愛されていることを忘れないで。そして、あなたの夢が何であっても、それを達成するために努力することを決してやめないこと。

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started